Make your own free website on Tripod.com

PART III

ANNEXES

1. PHOTO ANNEX


This annex lists photographs of buildings in North Gower and area for which no research or
other information of substance appears on the files.

Address: 2322 Andrew Street, North Gower
Location: Not recorded on file
Date and Fabric: not dated,three storey frame
Known Owners: No data
Photograph Date: 1990, 1980

Address: 2367 Church Street
Location: lot 81, Plan 628
Date and Fabric: not researched, two storey frame
Known owners: Jim Johnston, mid 1980's
Photograph date: 1990 and four photos in the same set taken by one of the student surveys in
the mid~1980's

Address: 2371 Church Street
Location: not recorded on file
Date and Fabric: not dated; two storey frame
Known owners: not researched for LACAC; 1980 photos are labelled "Chambers House"
Photograph date: 1990; 1980 [four photos in series on file]

Address: 2378 Church Street
Location: not recorded on file
Date and Fabric: not dated, two storey frame
Known owners: no data on file
Photograph date: 1990; 1980

Address: 6548 Fourth Line [Main Street] Old Public and Continuation School
Location: not on file
Date and Fabric: 1912 two story concrete block school, demolished 1980
Known owners: not on file
Photograph date: not dated - appears fairly early since no trees. Photo of contemporary bowling alley now on the site also on file

Address: 6549 Fourth Line [Main Street] Old Public School No. 6
Location: Pt Lot 19, Con 3
Date and Fabric: 1889 brick school, demolished many years ago
Known Owners: no history on file
Photograph Date: not dated; clothes suggest 1920's; file includes photo of modern bungalow on the site.

Address: 6584 Fourth Line [Main Street]
Location: Not on file
Date and Fabric: 11/2 storey brick
Known Owners: no history on file
Photograph Date: 1990; 1980

Address: 6598 Fourth Line [Main Street]
Location: not on file
Date and Fabric: Prewar streetscape; brick veneer bank destroyed by fire in 1948
Known Owners: not on file
Photograph Date: copies of early 1920's postcard [after road cemented but before asphalt] and one earlier picture [pre first war ?] showing the building apparently before it was occupied by the bank

Address: 6608 Fourth Line [Main street]
Location: not on file
Date and Fabric: not dated; two storey clapboard
Known Owners: no data on file
Photograph Date: 1990 and two from 1980

Address: 6617 Fourth Line [Main Street]
Location: not on file
Date and Fabric: not dated, two storey frame
Known Owners: no research on file; photos labelled "Ken Butterfield"
Photograph Date: two from 1980

Address: 6656 Fourth Line [Main Street]
Location: Not on file
Date and Fabric: 1885 brick veneer church, destroyed by fire, 1967
Known Owners: North Gower Presbyterian Church 1885 1925
North Gower United Church 1925 1967
Photograph Date: early 1920's
Former Presbyterian Church and United Church Hall

Address: 6059 Regional Road 73 [Old Highway 16]
Location: no data on file
Date and Fabric: n.d., two storey frame
Known Owners: Mrs. Helena Craig
Photograph Date: 1989

Address: 6096 Regional Road 73 [Old Highway 16]
Location: no data on file
Date and Fabric: n.d., two and a half storey block
Known Owners: S.E. McEwen
Photograph Date: 1989

Address: 6107 Regional Road 73 [Old Highway 16]
Location: no data on file
Date and Fabric: n.d., two storey frame
Known Owners: Lloyd Kirk
Photograph Date: 1989

Address: 6142 Regional Road 73 [Old Highway 16]
Location: no data on file
Date and Fabric: n.d., two and a half storey block
Known Owners: no data on file
Photograph Date: 1989

Address: 6180 Regional Road 73 [Old Highway 16]
Location
: no data on file
Date and Fabric: n.d., two storey frame
Known Owners: Currently Gerald Craig
Photograph Date: 1989 - two photos

Address: 6255 Regional Road 73 [Old Highway 16]
Location: Lot 15, con 2
Date and Fabric: n.d., appears 19th c., storey and a half stone;
Known Owners: no data on file
Photograph Date: n. d. possibly around 1980 derelict, later demolished

Address: 6361 Regional Road 73 [Old Highway 16] Colonial Inn Apple Farm
Location: not on file
Date and Fabric: n.d., Two storey stucco
Known Owners: Dr. Helen Salkeld
Photograph Date: 1989; also undated perhaps 1950's and undated perhaps 1930's

Address: 6556 Regional Road 73 [Old Highway 16] The Standard Church
For reference to former church, see also 6593 Fourth Line [Main Street]
Location: not on file
Date and Fabric: Old church 1923, frame, demolished 1965
New church constructed 1965, dedicated 1966, brick
Known Owners: Standard Church
Photograph Date: Not dated; two photos of the old church and three of the new.

Address: 2104 Roger Stevens Drive
Location: not on file
Date and Fabric: modern brick church and residence
Known Owners: Pilgrim Holiness Church
Photograph Date: n.d. 19867

Address: 2333 Roger Stevens Drive
Location: not on file
Date and Fabric: early 1900's frame bungalow
Known Owners: no research on file
Photograph Date: 1990

Table of Contents