Address: 6652 Fourth Line [Main Street]
Location: Lot 17, Plan 628,
Date and Fabric: late 19th C, two storey frame
|Clarke connection||? -1920|
|Wallace connection||1920 - 1962|
|Jim and Runa Margetts||1962 - 2000|
|Leslie Martin||2000 -|
Other photographs on file from 1986 and 1980
Limited data on file.
This Main Street house was built and owned by the Clarke family in the late 19th century. The interior finish on the walls was lath and plaster and the exterior was the narrow wooden siding that is still on today. In 1920 the house was sold to the Wallace family who added the north-east corner, the porch and possibly the upstairs. The front door was originally on the north side but was changed to the east side, probably when the Wallaces made their additions.
In 1962 Mrs. Wilson, formerly Mrs Wallace, sold the house to Mr. and Mrs Margetts. In 1963, the Margetts converted the woodshed into a kitchen and in 1979 they added a laundry room to the back of the house. The house is heated by oil and the grouted walls keep it very well insulated. It has hardwood floors and the windows have very old glass panes.
The front door once had transom and side lights which were removed before the Margetts bought the house. They were later found in the attic, and Mr. Margetts has converted the transom into a mirror and used the two side lights to form the top of a coffee table.
[after Peter Davidson, 1986. Source 1]