Address: 6586 Fourth
Line [Main Street]
formerly at 6609 Main Street, q.v.
Location: Not on file
Date and Fabric: late 19th century, two storey frame
|prior to 1940: see narrative|
|Fred Willis||1940 - 1956|
|Ken and Edna Montgomery||1956 - 1963|
|Gower Contractors||1963 - 1973|
|Albert Lally||1973 -|
1986 and earlier undated photo also on file; also snap of the building in its old location, prior to the move.
See also Chapter 4 of Part I above, and "Presence of the Past" October, 1986, for a general discussion of house moving in North Gower
This building is now located on the west side of Main Street immediately to the north of the Bank. Its original location, though, was on the other side of the street south of the crossroads, between the present 6607 and 6609. Its date of construction is not known. It is a frame house now  covered in insulbrick.
In the late 19th century it housed two businesses. The southern half was the site of David Barrows' harness-making shop. Barrows, with his wife Ida and daughter Mary, lived in the adjacent house  that is now  the office of Terry Wright's Autos. In the northern half of the building, Addison Graham operated a jewellery store where he also sold toys. For a few years in the early 1920's, the Barrows side of the house accommodated the North Gower dentistry practice of Dr. Pratt.
The Barrows appear to have owned the lot until 1897. It is unclear whether they continued to own the building after that date , if indeed it had been constructed by that time, or whether it passed to Hiram Scott and then to William Bruce. In any event, starting in 1908 the actual property [lot 8, plan 91] followed the ownership of the adjoining lot to the north [6607, q.v.] for at least the next 30 years. 40
Sometime between 1923 and 1926, the house was moved to its present site. It was supported on rollers and pulled up the street with a horse-winched capstan. It is not known who moved the house but it would be surprising if the well-known North Gower house mover Jack Baldry was not involved. The probable owner at the time of the move was Wilfred Lavoie, a blacksmith who had a shop next to the new location of the house, on the site of the present  Royal Bank.
About 1940 the house was sold to Fred Willis, a retired farmer who served as the township Road Superintendent. In 1956 he sold the house to Ken and Edna Montgomery. In 1963 the property was sold to "Gower Contractors". In 1970 part of the lot was leased to the Royal Bank, probably as an easement. In 1973 Mr. Albert Lally of Manotick acquired the house and it is currently  rented. An addition was apparently built at the back at about the time that Mr. Lally bought the house. [after Peter Davidson, 1986. Sources 1, 2, 4]
40 The file is not very clear about this. It may have been that the lot was sold but the house was not - which might explain why the house was later moved.