Address: 2376 Church Street
Location: Lot 124, Plan 628
Date and Fabric: c 1876; two storey brick
|Known Owners||Selling Price|
|Horatio and Martha Holden [lot only]||- 1861||$200|
|Mary Ann Montgomery [lot only]||1871- 1876||bequest|
|Alex and Phoebe Montgomery [lot only]||1876-1876||50|
|William Bruce [house and lot]||1876-1883||900|
|Thomas M, Garland||1903-1914||1800|
|Ralph and Mudel Jago||1937-1984|
|Charles D. Stackhouse||1987 -|
Other photos on file from 1986, 1980 and 1956 [oversize from rear].
Architectural summary  and other data on file.
This Church Street residence sits next to the Anglican Church and was built at approximately the same time, between 1876 and 1879. The lot was sold in 1861 by Horatio Holden [who was postmaster from 1857 to 1861] and his wife Martha to Mary Ann Montgomery for $200. In 1876 Mary Ann Montgomery died and left the lot to Alex Montgomery of Buffalo and Phoebe Montgomery of North Gower, who immediately sold to William Bruce for $50.
William Bruce [born 1853, died 1907] is thought to have been the builder of the house. At this time he was 22 years old, so it is unlikely that the house was built before 1876. In 1883 Bruce sold the property to Martha Garland for $900 and this dramatic increase in the value probably indicated the inclusion of a building. Belden's 1879 County Atlas shows a house to the immediate west of the Anglican Church marked as "Wm. Bruce", so it seems very likely that the house was built between 1876 and 1879.
The Garlands had arrived in North Gower from Winnipeg, where Thomas was in the city police force. They lived in the house until 1914, a total of 31 years. Mr. Garland was employed as a "commercial traveller". In about 1900, he added the western extension with the bay window. He had originally planned to add the extension on the east side of the house, but the odours and flies from the neighboring Church carriage sheds discouraged him from the preferred site. Despite Garland's best efforts, Church officials refused to move the carriage sheds until after he had built on the other side!
In 1914 the house was sold to Anthony Seabrook and his wife Diana [nee Geddes] for $1,800. Mr. Seabrook was a retired local farmer who lived in the house until the death of his wife in 1932. In that year, Major Ralph Jago and his wife Muriel moved in as tenants of Mr. Seabrook. The house had no electricity or plumbing and was heated with coal and wood stoves. In 1937 the Jagos bought the house for $1700 and had electricity installed. At the same time the cellar was deepened and given a cement floor and a new cement cistern. In the 1940's insulation was put in. Plumbing was installed in 1949 and an oil furnace in 1951.
In 1971, Major Jago passed away and Mrs. Jago continued to live in the house until she sold it in 1984. Patricia Cooper owned it for a brief time and in October, 1985, Mr. and Mrs. Wallis acquired the house. In 1987, they sold to Mr. Stackhouse.
The Jagos made a number of other improvements to the property, and a very comprehensive account of the house history was compiled by Mrs. Jago in her "house log" - copy on file.
[after Peter Davidson, 1986. Sources 1, 3]
Mrs Jago, who died in December, 1987, was very interested in local history, and a founding member of the LACAC. Although her contribution was indirect, many of the North Gower house histories in this inventory owe a great deal to her extensive knowledge, friendliness and generosity. She was a primary source, both of information and of enthusiasm, for the summer students who worked in the village in the late 1970's and early 1980's.