Address: 2372 Church
Holy Trinity Anglican Church
Location: Block A, Plan 628
Date and Fabric: 1880 stone church
Known owners: The Anglican Church of Canada
Other photographs: recent [rear view and cemetery], undated 1982 ? and 1979 ?, 1980 [drive shed], ca. 1900 [exterior and interior]
Substantial data on file. See also "Presence of the Past" for January, 1988
The original Church of England Church located on this site was built in 1856 at a cost of $700. This small frame building accommodated about 100 people. Through the energy of its minister, the Reverend A.J. O'Laughlin who served from 1872 to 1884, the church was to attract ever- increasing numbers of worshippers, to the point that by 1876, plans were being made for a new, larger church built of stone. The architect for this new building was Mr. John Shore of Ottawa, who also held the original building contract dated November 7, 1878, in the sum of $3,600. For reasons unknown, Mr. Shore asked to be released from this contract, and on December 16, 1878, it was let to Mr. John Eastman for $4,000.The cornerstone was laid on the 25th of June, 1979, by Archdeacon J.P. Lauder of Christ Church in Ottawa, and the church was consecrated and formally opened on Thursday, April 22, 1880.
On February 6th, 1884, the church bell arrived at Osgoode Station from McNeely Bell Works in West Troy, New York State. It was installed on February 11, 1884 and first rung on February 15. Inscribed on the bell is the following verse composed by the Reverend Mr. O'Laughlin:
Lord Jesus, shield, and keep with grace
Thy Blood Redeemed; within this place,
Daily add to them large increase,
With fullness bless, and ever in Peace.
On July 17th, 1884, Mr. O'Laughlin suffered a fall which was to prove fatal. It is a tribute to this man's energy that before his death on September 19th, he was able to design the chancel stained- glass windows located on the eastern face of the church.
The present altar in the church was installed during the incumbency of the Reverend R.J. Dumbrille [1898 - 1906] around 1903. It was not until 1923, under the guidance of the Reverend Mr. Wimberley, that plans were drawn up for the present seating arrangement, which consists of a broad centre aisle with seating on either side.
On January 9th, 1944, tragedy struck Holy Trinity as the interior of the church [including the chancel windows] was almost completely destroyed by fire. During the five months of subsequent renovation, including the restoration of the chancel windows according to the Reverend Mr. O'Laughlin's original plans and the installation of a new pulpit and organ, Anglican services were held in the North Gower United Church. The restoration work was completed on June 14, 1944.
[after "Presence of the Past", January, 1988 and other information on file]