Address: 2368 Church Street
Location: Block A, Plan 628
Date and Fabric: 1903; two-and-a-half storey brick Anglican Rectory
Known owners: Anglican Church 1903 -
Other photos 1990, 1986, recent undated, 1980, 1909
Architectural summary  and other documentation on file.
This large brick residence was built in 1903 by the Merrickville firm of Wilson's as the new Rectory for the North Gower Anglican Church. It was designed by an Ottawa architect named Watts and all the carpentry was done by the Mills Brothers of North Gower. The foundation excavation was done by Frank Mather who used a scoop shovel drawn by two mules 30. Local parishioners did the necessary grading work and the bricks were brought from the "old brickyard at Burritrs Rapids" 31. A $1,200 mortgage was fully paid off in 1908.
The house has four bedrooms in addition to separate maid's quarters located on the second floor. Despite efforts by the Reverend E.A. Johnston [1907 - 1923] to seal off the stairs to the attic and by the Reverend F.H. Wimberley [1923 - 1927] to insulate the space between the walls and the rafters the house, even today, is poorly insulated and frequently cool in the winter. The 1939 Diamond Jubilee Historical Sketch 32 suggests that "the reason for this might be attributed to the fact that it was never properly finished". In 1928 a spark from a garden bonfire started a fire that damaged the roof and the Rectory was spared further damage only through the quick action of the villagers armed with hand sprinklers.
The minister in 1986, the Reverend Canon Allan Rogers, had a new wooden verandah installed on the front of the Rectory. It was built by Allan Sadler of North Gower.
The old rectory that was replaced by this building was situated on a large plot of land on the south side of Church Street immediately to the west of the Greer house, now 2340 Church Street, q.v. At the time the land was apparently "low and swampy" and came to be considered unsuitable for dwelling purposes. For this reason, it was abandoned by the church. Between 1905 and 1908, the building was rented as a residence by the late Mr. Harry Seabrook's father. A Mr. Gault was the next owner, and then it came into the hands of Mr. Herb Moore. Mr Moore lived at what is now 2347 Church Street [q.v.] early in this century, and used the old rectory as a bakeshop. It burned down about 1918 and the site was then the location of Hicks sawmill until at least 1940 33. Two modern bungalows now stand there.
A list of clergy who have lived in the house:
1. Reverend R.J. Dumbrille 1898 - 1906
2. Reverend William Netten 1906 - 1907
3. Reverend E.A. Johnston 1907 - 1923
4. Reverend F.H. Wimberley 1923 1927
5. Reverend S.S. Clarke 1927 - 1927
6. Reverend Canon G.S. Anderson 1927 - 1931
7. Reverend E.W.B. Richards 1931 - 1934
8. Reverend C.C. Phillips 1934 - 1940
9. Reverend Arthur D. Floyde 1940 - 1941
10. Reverend R Eric Osborne 1941 - 1943
11. Reverend Wilfred H. Bradley 1943 - 1950
12. Reverend Edward Alfred Pulker 1950 - 1953
13. Reverend John Charles Garrett 1953 - 1956
14. Reverend Stephen Kenward 1956 - 1964
15 Reverend Francis N. Gooch 1964 - 1970
16. Reverend G.T. Churchill 1970 - 1973
17. Reverend David Lethbridge 1973 - 1984
18. Reverend Canon Allan Rogers 1984 - 1987
19. Reverend Peter Lackey 1987 -
30 Tweedsmuir History, p. 81
31 This may well have been the Taylor Brothers brickworks on lot 14 in the Broken Front concession of Marlborough
32 Parish of North Gower Diamond Jubilee 1879 - 1939: Historical Sketch Of Church Life and Work in this Parish and District 1829 - 1939, - photocopy on file
33 Until at least 1944, if the date on the photo in the 2347 Church Street file is accurate. This clearly shows sawlogs on the lot March, 1990
[after Peter Davidson, 1986. Sources 1, 3, 5; Mr Davidson also cites the Anglican Diocesan Archives as an additional source]